Drones: from the military to the civil society

Drone Attack: How We Might Willingly Embrace The Surveillance Society | Techdirt. 15 March 2012,

I have been following the use of drones, with notably the fact that the weapon when killing civilians creates questions of international (criminal) law. But I have to say that I never quite went as far as seeing them in civil society. Probably a bit of naivity because historically, what the military creates tends to find its ways into civil society sooner rather than later. So I have to say that the thought to see those machines hovering above my head like in Starwars does not  appeal to me in the slightest. The invasion of privacy is far too great to be an acceptable price to pay. On the other hand, I am one of those people who cannot stand facebook and who refuses to use some sites like Evernote because of the harnessing of personal information they gather (why on earth do they need my date of birth to register on their site in order to use it? It’s for their statistics and the money they can gain by selling the information, rather than for my own benefit). Maybe because of my own attitude to that, I found the title of the post strikingly accurate. If we accept geo-localisation so easily (mobile phones), cctv and so on, what prevents us to embrace so eagerly drones to monitor our own interests? Mireille Hildebrandt has written on Ambient Intelligence

About Audrey Guinchard

Senior Lecturer @ University of Essex (UK)
This entry was posted in Anonymity, Data retention, Education, Human Rights, Surveillance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

